Ford Racing Performance Parts
Go Back   Focaljet - Ford Focus Forums > TEAM Focaljet Community > Welcome to the Jet!
   
FJ Sponsors Register FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read

Welcome to the Jet! New user? There are NO dumb questions here, ask away.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-15-2008, 02:20 AM   #1
MondoMan
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 61

Default any body know about sponsorship?

I went to hot import nights Chicago and I signed up for carsponsorships.com. I checked out the web site and it gives a long list of things required to get free stuff when sponsored. to get it going i have to pay $89.00. has anybody here ever been sponsored? Is I worth it? what are the pros and cons? Is this a scam?
MondoMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2008, 04:10 AM   #2
GapBoyPCS
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Waterloo/Toronto/GTA, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 8,724

Default Re: any body know about sponsorship?

This is actually not an uncommon question. Here are some references:

http://forums.focaljet.com/team-pit-...ht=sponsorship

http://forums.focaljet.com/team-pit-...ht=sponsorship

http://forums.focaljet.com/team-pit-...ht=sponsorship (you may want to read this one because it does reference that specific site)
GapBoyPCS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2008, 08:09 AM   #3
ridindirtyzx3
TEAM Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Lebanon, PA
Posts: 864

Default Re: any body know about sponsorship?

i tried it. i filled out the stuff on their website, and got a phone call saying they chose my car to sponsore, and that i would hafta pay (maybe $89, i dont exactly remember). so i paid the money, and they told me that they would fill out a resume thing for me, and that i would probably be getting free parts within a month or 2. 3 months later, i never heard anything from them, except for getting a letter in the mail saying that i paid the money and that they wrote a resume for me, and they sent me a decal. after a little over 3 months, i was kinda pissed and tried calling the guy who was in charge of the sponsorship, and he never answered for me. eventually i just canceled it on my credit card, and had to explain how i spent all that money and never got anything out of it, and how i was basicly scammed. i guess carsponsorships.com may work for some people, but i havent had anyhting good.
__________________
http://www.myspace.com/ruast8champ
Mods: 17'' Enkei Evo 6 Rims, AEM CAI, OBX Header, Borla 2.25'' Exhaust, Steeda Short Shifter, Eibach Sportlines, Vis Invader Carbon Fiber Hood, 7'' In-Dash DVD Player, 12'' Kicker Sub, 1200W Sony Amp, Streetglow Gold-Line Underbody Kit (broken, but will soon be fixed), tint, and some other minor stuff
ridindirtyzx3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2008, 11:05 AM   #4
MondoMan
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 61

Default Re: any body know about sponsorship?

thanks you guys for the quick response , I don t think I will be doing this. It seams like to much of a hassle plus who wants to get scammed.
MondoMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2008, 05:10 AM   #5
SALEEN_N2O
Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 25

Default Re: any body know about sponsorship?

a while ago i i got "sponsered"

they wanted me to pay 150 bucks,

i said no,

but a week later i got a phone call from them saying how it was such a good opportunity for me and that i should take it, and that it was only 150 bucks,

still i said no......told them i was broke!!!

another 2 weeks pass and i get another phone call, didnt pick up, so they left a message, saying that it was my last chance that if i wanted they could hold the spot for me, and when i had cash to call them up,

I dont know if the online sponseship has worked for anyone, here but i think its all a scam!!
SALEEN_N2O is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2008, 05:58 PM   #6
boostedzx3
Senior TEAM Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Enola, PA
Posts: 4,291

Default Re: any body know about sponsorship?

If you wanna talk to someone who runs a sponorships talk to CWCZX3. He's sponosored through Fox Marketing and definetly has a nice car. However he's also under agreements that he has to be at whatever shows they want him to be at and from what I understood from a few people I know under the same group you quite often have to drop things at the spur of the moment for some of their shows. I've also understood that all the parts you get on your car for free can be taken back off your car if you fail to meet their satisfactions.
__________________
Project s10 daily driver---is done thanks for the feedback!
http://forums.focaljet.com/team-rigz...storation.html

Project 351 swap in teh mustang--updated 6/15- 351 is in and done
http://forums.focaljet.com/team-rigz...ml#post6540928
boostedzx3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2008, 07:45 PM   #7
Erica
I have a great pair of eyes
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 10,062

Default Re: any body know about sponsorship?

What specifically do you want to be sponsored for? For carshow entries? Racing? Are you driving a focus right now?

We've had sponsored vehicles in the past, and all of them have been because either they were going to SEMA or going into a magazine. My roommates' boyfriend has a giant HD 2500 Superduty that has a sponsorship because they use his truck as a driving advertisement to show off the parts on his truck.
Erica is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2008, 01:09 PM   #8
blueovaldave
Senior TEAM Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Fredrick, Md
Posts: 2,596

Default Re: any body know about sponsorship?

Quote:
Originally Posted by MondoMan
I went to hot import nights Chicago and I signed up for carsponsorships.com. I checked out the web site and it gives a long list of things required to get free stuff when sponsored. to get it going i have to pay $89.00. has anybody here ever been sponsored? Is I worth it? what are the pros and cons? Is this a scam?

Don't pay these guys anything. They will give you the same advise everyone here is giving you.

You are better off doing some leg work yourself to find sponsors.

Depending on what you are looking to do like Erica said.

I have a vendor at work that is sponsoring me to race. He only pays entry fees but it is a savings to me. Start looking locally. Put together some pictures, and a little bit about yourself and what you would do to represent the potential sponsorship, ect.

Do it all yourself though don't pay these guys $90.00 for them to send you the same list they send everyone else and some literature on how to put together a potential sponsor propsal.
__________________
2001 S2 Liquid Grey, PWSC
243 hp, 190 lb/tq
Strikeforce Racing

"You should practice in the off season like I do. Every couple of days I find an empty parking lot, walk out to the middle, and stand there for a couple hours." ProDarwin
blueovaldave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2008, 07:44 PM   #9
focuspl99
[FJ] Specialist
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Chicago
Posts: 6,136

Default Re: any body know about sponsorship?

classic ricer scam.



welcome to [FJ]
__________________
Paul
focuspl99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2008, 11:29 AM   #10
Erica
I have a great pair of eyes
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 10,062

Default Re: any body know about sponsorship?

Yah, paying someone to get sponsorships doesn't compute in my mind...having to pay for installation makes sense, or paying for some of the parts out of pocket.

There are some places that will offer sponsorships for parts if you're getting into a magazine and will make you pay up front and reimburse you when the mag publishes.
Erica is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2008, 01:08 PM   #11
Voortrek3
TEAM Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: San Dimas, CA, USA
Posts: 777

Default Re: any body know about sponsorship?

Yes it is a scam. They promise you the world, but require cash up front etc etc.
__________________
2003 Focus SVT 2dr/CD Silver/Born 03/05/03
Bought: 04/13/03/Build# 405

Go ahead and call 911, I'm off duty!
Voortrek3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:43 PM.


Powered by vBulletin Version 3.5.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 2.4.5
I-Bulletin - Developed for vBulletin 3.5 - b6gm6n x7x7x7.com



Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Focaljet.com