Hello and welcome to our community! Is this your first visit?
Register

MFactory Competition Products

Rookie

Default O2 sensor for my 2001 Focus SE

I am a relative novice to auto maintenance but I need to have my O2 sensor's replaced and am going to do it myself (my mpg has been dipping over the past 1-2 years from around 26mpg city to currently 20mpg). I've located both the sensor on the manifold before the catalytic converter and the sensor after... do I need to replace both? As far as I know, neither have been replaced before and I'm creeping up on 90K miles. I'll also be cleaning my MAF sensor while I'm at it... any comments, tips or suggestions are welcomed.

While I'm at it - what other tune up suggestions above and beyond the normal "oil change" and "tire rotation" routine should I be looking to do? I'm enjoying learning about my car and doing some work to it. Ive went from being hands off to changing oil, rotating tires, changing rotors & brake pads.... and now the sensors. I'd like to learn more please.

Thanks!

Default Re: O2 sensor for my 2001 Focus SE

Some of the advice will depend on what engine you have in your Focus.

I'm not entirely sure why you need to have the O2 sensors replaced, aside from the drop in mileage. A lot of other things can impact mileage, like spark plugs, tire pressure, or air filter or maybe even the gas you're using.
    Richard
    2002 ZTS | Sangria Red |
    Over 521,000 km and 323,000 miles
    2012 SE Sport | Red Candy | Over 53,000 km and 33,000 miles

[FJ] focaljet - Forum Guidelines - Welcome to the Jet - 2012 Focus - Team Canada - FJ Store - Sponsors - SEARCH

I was wondering how hard it is to change it too. Mine has gone out as well and I got under the car today, but can figure out how to get it off since the bracket connecting the manifold to the cat is blocking it. Any advice?

TEAM Member