Ford Focus Forum banner

1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
4,766 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
How did you learn to weld? (Taught by friends and family, went to school for it, taught yourself, etc...)
At what age did you learn and how long have you been welding?
What processes have you used?
Is it just for hobby or a career?

My dad taught me some when I was in high school with an old Lincoln AC-225 stick welder. I'm currently a student at the Hobart Institute of Welding Technology in their 9 month program. I'll be graduating in August with 3 AWS-QC7 certs in combination, structural, and pipe. When I'm done here, I'll have experience with oxy, stick, MIG, TIG (stainless and aluminum), and flux-core. I love doing this stuff and hope to make a career of it. I plan to be back here at Hobart in 4-5 years to get my CWI.

·
Registered
6,179 Posts
I took a course at my local community college. It was among the best $65 I have ever spent in my life. Learned a ton, had a great time and EASILY burned through that much in consumables. I could have learned TIG if I wanted to, but I concentrated on SMAW and MIG. I would like to go back and learned TIG too, although a TIG machine is outside my budget.

I have been welding for about 5 years.

·
Registered
5,177 Posts
I learned how to weld as part of my auto tech degree at community college. Then, I pretty much completely forgot how in the time between then and getting a mechanical engineering degree and getting the job I have now, which I do welding occasionally. In a matter of an hour, I relearned how to mig, and even learned how to tig. I'm not as good at tig as some of the other guys, but mig welding is so unbelievable easy it's almost ridiculous.

·
Registered
182 Posts